

LOS ANGELES COUNTY
SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE/
INTEGRATED WASTE MANAGEMENT TASK FORCE
900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331
P.O. BOX 1460, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460
www.lacountyiswmtf.org

May 23, 2019

*** FLOOR ALERT ***

TO: California State Assembly Members

FROM: Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/

Integrated Waste Management Task Force

SUPPORT – AB 792 (AS AMENDED ON MAY 17, 2019) – RECYCLING: PLASTIC BEVERAGE CONTAINERS: MINIMUM RECYCLED CONTENT

The Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/Integrated Waste Management Task Force (Task Force) **SUPPORTS** Assembly Bill 792 (AB 792), Recycling: Plastic Beverage Containers: Minimum Recycled Content, as amended on May 17, 2019.

AB 792 would on and after January 1, 2021, require a plastic beverage container filled with a beverage by a beverage manufacturer to contain specified amounts of postconsumer recycled plastic content pursuant to a tiered plan that would require the beverage container to contain, on average, no less than 75 percent postconsumer recycled plastic content on and after January 1, 2030.

The Task Force strongly supports the proposed legislation because the Task Force has been a consistent proponent of expanding recycling markets, and by establishing a high level postconsumer recycled plastic content minimum standard in the manufacturing of plastic beverage containers, this will greatly support the much-needed expansion of the recycled plastic market.

As provided by AB 939 (1989) and Chapter 3.67 of the Los Angeles County Code, the Task Force is responsible for coordinating the development of major solid waste planning documents for Los Angeles County and the 88 cities in the County with a population of over ten million. The Task Force addresses issues impacting the solid waste management system on a countywide basis.

Based on the foregoing, the **Task Force SUPPORTS AB 792 and requests your AYE vote on the bill**. If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Mohajer, a member of the Task Force, at MikeMohajer@yahoo.com or at (909) 592-1147.

cc: Assembly Member Ting Assembly Member Irwin Assembly Member Stone