

MARK PESTRELLA, CHAIR MARGARET CLARK, VICE - CHAIR LOS ANGELES COUNTY SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE/ INTEGRATED WASTE MANAGEMENT TASK FORCE 900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331 P.O. BOX 1460, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460 www.lacountyiswmtf.org

September 30, 2019

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor, State of California State Capitol Building, Suite 1173 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Governor Newsom:

<u>REQUEST FOR SIGNATURE</u> – ASSEMBLY BILL 792 (ENROLLED ON SEPTEMBER 20, 2019) – RECYCLING: PLASTIC CONTAINERS: MINIMUM RECYCLED CONTENT AND LABELING

The Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/Integrated Waste Management Task Force (Task Force) respectfully requests your signature on Assembly Bill 792 (AB 792). AB 792 would, among other things, require a plastic beverage container filled with a beverage by a beverage manufacturer to contain specified amounts of post-consumer recycled plastic content pursuant to a tiered plan that would require the beverage container to contain no less than 50 percent post-consumer recycled plastic content on and after January 1, 2030. The bill would impose civil penalties on a beverage manufacturer for a violation of these requirements. The bill would authorize Department of Resources Recycling & Recovery (CalRecycle) to enforce these provisions and would authorize CalRecycle to conduct audits and investigations of a beverage manufacturer for the purpose of ensuring compliance. The bill would require penalties collected to be deposited in the Recycling Enhancement Penalty Account, which the bill would create.

The Task Force has been a consistent proponent of expanding recycling markets, and by establishing a high level post-consumer recycled plastic content minimum standard in the manufacturing of plastic beverage containers the proposal will greatly provide for the much-needed expansion of the recycled plastic market.

Pursuant to Chapter 3.67 of the Los Angeles County Code and the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989 (Assembly Bill 939), the Task Force is responsible for coordinating the development of all major solid waste planning documents prepared for the County of Los Angeles and the 88 cities in

The Honorable Gavin Newsom September 30, 2019 Page 2

Los Angeles County with a combined population in excess of ten million. Consistent with these responsibilities and to ensure a coordinated and cost-effective and environmentally sound solid waste management system in Los Angeles County, the Task Force also addresses issues impacting the system on a countywide basis. The Task Force membership includes representatives of the League of California Cities-Los Angeles County Division, County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors, City of Los Angeles, waste management industry, environmental groups, the public, and a number of other governmental agencies.

Based on the foregoing, the Task Force supports AB 792, and respectfully requests your signature on this legislation. If you or staff have any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Mohajer, a member of the Task Force, at <u>MikeMohajer@yahoo.com</u> or at (909) 592-1147.

Sincerely,

Margaret Clark

Margaret Clark, Vice-Chair Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/ Integrated Waste Management Task Force and Mayor, City of Rosemead

EC:pg:cso P:\eppub\BudgetIT\TASK FORCE\Task Force\Letters\2019\September\AB 792 Request for Signature FINAL.docx

cc: Assembly Member Ting Assembly Member Irwin Rachel Machi Wagoner, Office of Governor Gavin Newsom California State Association of Counties League of California Cities League of California Cities – Los Angeles County Division Each Member of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors Sachi A. Hamai, Los Angeles County Chief Executive Officer San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments South Bay Cities Council of Governments Gateway Cities Council of Governments Westside Cities Council of Governments Each City Mayor and City Manager in the County of Los Angeles Each City Recycling Cordinator in Los Angeles County Each Member of the Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/ Integrated Waste Management Task Force