

LOS ANGELES COUNTY SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE/ INTEGRATED WASTE MANAGEMENT TASK FORCE 900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331 P.O. BOX 1460, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460 www.lacountyswimtf.org

MARGARET CLARK, VICE -CHAIR

December 12, 2013

Caroll Mortensen, Director Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery 1001 I Street Sacramento, California 95812

Dear Ms. Mortensen:

REQUEST TO EXPEDITE IMPLEMENTING REGULATIONS –ASSEMBLY BILL 1126 ENGINEERED MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE CONVERSION

The Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/Integrated Waste Management Task Force (Task Force) respectfully requests CalRecycle to expedite the preparation of the implementing regulations for Assembly Bill 1126 (AB 1126, 2013) pertaining to Engineered Municipal Solid Waste (EMSW) Conversion.

AB 1126, among other things, requires a jurisdiction to prepare a countywide siting element that provides a description of the areas to be used for the development of EMSW conversion facilities concurrent and consistent with the development and implementation of the source reduction and recycling elements.

The Los Angeles County Countywide Siting Element (Siting Element) is currently being revised in accordance with CalRecycle's requirements as stipulated in Sections 18755 through 18756.7, Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations. The preliminary draft of the revised Siting Element has already been prepared by the Los Angeles County Department of Public Works under the auspices of the Task Force. The draft California Environmental Quality Act document is currently under preparation. In order to ensure any updates to the Siting Element and its CEQA document are in compliance with AB 1126, it is essential that the implementing regulations for AB 1126 be developed expeditiously while providing sufficient time for review and comment by interested stakeholders.

Pursuant to Chapter 3.67 of the Los Angeles County Code and the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989 (Assembly Bill 939 [AB 939], as amended), the Task Force is responsible for coordinating the development of all major solid waste planning documents prepared for the County of Los Angeles and the 88 cities in Los Angeles County with a combined population in excess of ten million. Consistent with these responsibilities and to ensure a coordinated, cost-effective, and environmentally sound solid waste management system in Los Angeles County, the Task Force also addresses

Ms. Caroll Mortensen December 12, 2013 Page 2

issues impacting the system on a countywide basis. The Task Force membership includes representatives of the League of California Cities-Los Angeles County Division, County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors, City of Los Angeles, waste management industry, environmental groups, the public, and a number of other governmental agencies.

We appreciate your consideration of our request for expediting the preparation of the AB 1126 implementing regulations. If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Mohajer of the Task Force at <u>MikeMohajer@yahoo.com</u> or (909) 592-1147.

Sincerely,

Margaret Clark

Margaret Clark, Vice-Chair Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/ Integrated Waste management Task Force and Council Member, City of Rosemead

JB:ts

P:\eppub\Landfills\Siting Element Unit\Siting Element\CSE Working\Meetings and Presentations\Presentations\FPRS_TF\2013\12.2013\AB 1126 Letter to CalRecycle-Revised.doc

cc: CalRecycle (Howard Levenson and Mark De Bie) Los Angeles County Department of Regional Planning Gateway Cities Council of Governments Las Virgenes-Malibu Council of Governments San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments San Fernando Valley Council of Governments South Bay Cities Council of Governments Westside Cities Council of Governments Each City Mayor and City Manager in the County of Los Angeles Each Member of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors Each Member of the Los Angeles County Integrated Waste Management Task Force Each Member of the Alternative Technology Advisory Subcommittee Each Member of the Facility Plan Review Subcommittee