

LOS ANGELES COUNTY
SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE/
INTEGRATED WASTE MANAGEMENT TASK FORCE
900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331
P.O. BOX 1460, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460
www.lacountyiswmtf.org

June 14, 2010

The Honorable Gloria Romero State Capital Building, Room 2090 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Senator Romero:

SENATE BILL 624 (AMENDED MAY 19, 2010)

The Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/Integrated Waste Management Task Force (Task Force) would like to **remove its support** for Senate Bill 624 (SB 624), which initially would have amended the term "anaerobic digestion" for purposes of the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989. SB 624, as amended in the Assembly on May 19, 2010, will now remove serpentine as the state rock and lithologic emblem and as such is out of the scope of interest of the Task Force.

Pursuant to Chapter 3.67 of the Los Angeles County Code and the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989 (AB 939, as amended), the Task Force is responsible for coordinating the development of all major solid waste planning documents prepared for the County of Los Angeles and its 88 cities in Los Angeles County with a combined population in excess of 10 million. Consistent with these responsibilities, and to ensure a coordinated and cost-effective and environmentally-sound solid waste management system in Los Angeles County, the Task Force also addresses issues impacting the system on a countywide basis. The Task Force membership includes representatives of the League of California Cities-Los Angeles County Division, the County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors, the City of Los Angeles, the waste management industry, environmental groups, the public, and a number of other governmental agencies.

The Honorable Gloria Romero June 14, 2010 Page 2

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Mohajer of the Task Force at (909) 592-1147.

Sincerely,

Margaret Clark, Vice-Chair

Margaret Clark

Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/ Integrated Waste Management Task Force and Council Member, City of Rosemead

SK:ts

P:\eppub\ENGPLAN\TASK FORCE\Letters\SB 624 Remove Support.doc

cc: Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger

Senate President Pro Temp Darrell Steinberg

Assembly Speaker John Perez

Senator Dennis Hollingsworth, Minority Leader

Assembly Member Martin Garrick, Minority Leader

Each Member of the Assembly Natural Resources Committee

Each Member of the Los Angeles County Legislative Delegation

Each Member of the County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors

Each City Mayor in the County of Los Angeles

California State Association of Counties

League of California Cities

League of California Cities, Los Angeles County Division

Southern California Association of Governments

San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments

South Bay Cities Council of Governments

Gateway Cities Council of Governments

Each City Recycling Coordinator in Los Angeles County

Each Member of the Los Angeles County Integrated Waste Management Task Force