

LOS ANGELES COUNTY
SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE/
INTEGRATED WASTE MANAGEMENT TASK FORCE
900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331
P.O. BOX 1460, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460
www.lacountyiswmtf.org

GAIL FARBER, CHAIR MARGARET CLARK, VICE - CHAIR

August 28, 2013

The Honorable Mike Gatto, Chair Assembly Appropriations Committee California State Capitol, Room 2114 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Assembly Member Gatto:

SENATE BILL 804 (AMENDED AUGUST 27, 2013) SOLID WASTE: ENERGY – SUPPORT

The Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/Integrated Waste Management Task Force (Task Force) **supports** Senate Bill 804 (SB 804). The bill would, among other things, revise the definition of biomass conversion to include certain types of conversion technologies in addition to controlled combustion. Additionally, as recognized by the Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle), this bill would afford jurisdictions the flexibility to utilize anaerobic digestion as a waste management option for compliance with State waste diversion mandates and goals set forth in AB 939 and AB 341.

Pursuant to Chapter 3.67 of the Los Angeles County Code and the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989 (Assembly Bill 939 [AB 939], as amended), the Task Force is responsible for coordinating the development of all major solid waste planning documents prepared for the County of Los Angeles and the 88 cities in Los Angeles County with a combined population in excess of ten million. Consistent with these responsibilities and to ensure a coordinated, cost-effective, and environmentally sound solid waste management system in Los Angeles County, the Task Force also addresses issues impacting the system on a countywide basis. The Task Force membership includes representatives of the League of California Cities-Los Angeles County Division, County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors, City of Los Angeles, waste management industry, environmental groups, the public, and a number of other governmental agencies.

The Task Force has historically supported measures that would provide local jurisdictions increased flexibility in regards to organic waste management options. Accordingly, the Task Force has been a strong supporter of an array of conversion technologies, including anaerobic digestion. The anaerobic digestion process can convert post diverted compostable organic residual waste into clean fuels and energy in

The Honorable Mike Gatto August 28, 2013 Page 2

an environmentally friendly manner. Further, as recognized by CalRecycle, anaerobic digestion is a proven technology that has and continues to be used around the world to produce clean fuels and energy from organic waste.

Moreover, the inclusion of conversion technologies in the definition of "biomass conversion" would allow jurisdictions increased flexibility to manage a defined set of their source separated compostable organic solid waste. Additionally, it would make it possible for existing biomass facilities to upgrade from traditional combustion to newer more efficient conversion technologies. Without more options, compostable organic waste may need to be transported to facilities hundreds of miles away, which are both economically and environmentally costly.

Therefore, the Task Force **supports** SB 804 as amended August 20, 2013. If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Mohajer of the Task Force at (909) 592-1147 MikeMohajer@yahoo.com or.

Sincerely,

Margaret Clark, Vice-Chair

Margaret Clark

Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/

Integrated Waste Management Task Force and

Council Member, City of Rosemead

CS:ts

cc: Senator Ricardo Lara

Each Member of the Assembly Appropriations Committee

California State Association of Counties

League of California Cities

Each Member of the County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors

San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments

South Bay Cities Council of Governments

San Fernando Valley Council of Governments

Gateway Cities Council of Governments

Westside Cities Council of Governments

Each City Mayor and City Manager in the County of Los Angeles

Each Member of the Los Angeles County Integrated Waste Management Task Force

Each Member of the Alternative Technology Advisory Subcommittee