

LOS ANGELES COUNTY
SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE/
INTEGRATED WASTE MANAGEMENT TASK FORCE
900 SOUTH FREMONT AVENUE, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91803-1331
P.O. BOX 1460, ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA 91802-1460
www.lacountyjswmtf.org

MARGARET CLARK – VICE CHAIR

December 4, 2013

Mr. David Pelser, Director City of Whittier Public Works Department 13230 Penn Street Whittier. CA 90602

Dear Mr. Pelser:

FINDING OF CONFORMANCE SAVAGE CANYON LANDFILL, 13919 EAST PENN STREET, WHITTIER, CA SOLID WASTE FACILITY PERMIT NO. 19-AH-0001

On November 21, 2013, at a publically noticed meeting, the Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/Integrated Waste Management Task Force (Task Force) considered your request to continue the subject item regarding the Savage Canyon Landfill's Finding of Conformance with the Los Angeles County Countywide Siting Element. The Task Force and its Facility and Plan Review Subcommittee concurred with the City's request. The item will be considered by the Subcommittee and the Task Force at their next publically noticed meeting scheduled for December 19, 2013. The Subcommittee meeting is scheduled to start at 11 a.m. at the Los Angeles County Department of Public Works Headquarters located at 900 South Fremont Avenue, Alhambra, followed by the Task Force meeting at the same location at 1 p.m.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Mohajer of the Task Force at <a href="MikeMohajer@yahoo.com">MikeMohajer@yahoo.com</a> or (909) 592-1147 or Ms. Emiko Thompson, staff to the Task Force at <a href="ethomp@dpw.lacounty.gov">ethomp@dpw.lacounty.gov</a> or (626) 458-3521.

Sincerely, Margaret Clark

Margaret Clark, Vice-Chair

Los Angeles County Solid Waste Management Committee/

Integrated Waste Management Task Force and

Council Member, City of Rosemead

KM:ts

P:\eppub\EnvAff\ENVIRO. AFFAIRS\TASK FORCE\Task Force\Letters\2013\Savage Canyon Landfill FOC 12-04-13.doc

cc: City of Whittier, City Manager (Jeffrey Collier)

Each Member of the Los Angeles County Integrated Waste Management Task Force
Each Member of the Facility and Plan Review Subcommittee