About Streetlights

Los Angeles County Public Works administers 94,500 streetlights within the 17 County Lighting Maintenance Districts for the unincorporated County area and the 16 cities listed below. Approximately 60,000 streetlights are in the unincorporated areas of the County and the remaining 34,500 streetlights in the cities. Southern California Edison owns and maintains the majority of the streetlights within the unincorporated County and the streetlights we administer for the cities.
  • Agoura Hills
  • Bell Gardens
  • Calabasas
  • Carson
  • Diamond Bar
  • La Cañada Flintridge
  • La Mirada
  • Lawndale
  • Lomita
  • Malibu (certain areas)
  • Monterey Park (certain areas)
  • Paramount
  • Rolling Hills Estates
  • South El Monte
  • Walnut (certain areas)
  • Whittier (certain areas)

Benefits of Street Lighting

  • Neighborhood enhancement
  • Promotes nighttime business activity
  • Increases nighttime visibility for motorists and pedestrians